Mill Road Cemetery was created and consecrated in 1848 to provide more burial space for the city centre parishes. It is now full. It is still consecrated and owned by the parishes, and maintained as a churchyard and open space by Cambridge City Council. It is an English Heritage Grade II listed site, with several listed monuments and war graves. There are public art installations by Gordon Young, on the theme of birds and birdsong. It is always open.
Explore the website and see the notice boards and interpretation panels in the Cemetery for further information.
What you can do:-
Visit the Cemetery - remember those who have died - enjoy the green space, plants and wildlife - look out for the artwork - walk or sit - study the graves and local history - join the Friends of Mill Road Cemetery - explore the parish churches in the city that have plots in the Cemetery.
The cemetery is open all day, every day of the year, and is neither locked nor lit at night.
Sunday 6th November – Clean Up Session 1-3pm
Find the information we have on those commemorated in the Cemetery
In February 2014 Gordon Young, internationally acclaimed artist, installed his seven Bird Sculptures in Mill Road Cemetery.
We now have a PayPal account for online donations. Use the Donate button at the top of the page
Discover the many beautiful and interesting monuments and gravestones in the Cemetery
Read about the lives of some of the people buried here, organised by occupation or profession.
The Cemetery is a designated City Wildlife Site
Parishes, Cambridge City Council and Friends information